Skip To Main Content
CHS Announces 2023 National Merit® Scholarship Program  Semifinalists

Catholic High School administrators are proud to announce that 11 CHS seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists for 2023. On Wednesday, the National Merit® Scholarship Corporation announced CHS seniors Bennett Castro, Ryan Cedel, William Creech, Everett deBlieux, Peyton LeBlanc, Edward (Carter) Mayeux, André Miller, Kyle Oubre, Joseph Peak, Sidney Scheumack, and Nicholas Schroeder will continue on in the competition for more than 7,200 scholarships worth nearly $28 million. CHS Principal Lisa Harvey says the CHS family is incredibly proud of these students for such a tremendous scholastic accomplishment.

“We are always honored to recognize the achievements of our students, and today, we acknowledge the academic ability of these young men, as well as the many hours of schoolwork and preparation that allowed them to be recognized at this level," Harvey says. “What an outstanding accomplishment for such hard-working young men.”

To be considered as a National Merit Finalist, semifinalists must submit a detailed application including information about their academic records, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, honors, and awards. Semifinalists must also be endorsed by a school official, write an essay, and have outstanding grades throughout high school. National Merit Finalists for the Class of 2023 will be named in the spring.

About 95 percent of the 16,000 semifinalists from across the nation are expected to reach finalist standing, with half going on to win a National Merit Scholarship, which would earn the recipient the Merit Scholar® title. Congratulations, gentlemen!

Students pictured above are identified as follows (from left): Sidney Scheumack, Joseph Peak, Edward (Carter) Mayeux, Everett deBlieux, Nicholas Schroeder, William Creech, André Miller, Bennett Castro, Kyle Oubre, Ryan Cedel, and Peyton LeBlanc.

We would also like to commend the following young men who will receive recognition in the 2023 National Merit® Scholarship Program pictured below (from left): Luke Romaine, Charles Tramonte, and Gus Pourciau.

  • National Merit Scholars
  • classof2023
  • scholarships