Skip To Main Content
CHS Announces 2024 National Merit® Scholarship Program Semifinalists and Commended Students

Catholic High School administrators are proud to announce that 17 CHS seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists for 2024. On Wednesday, the National Merit® Scholarship Corporation announced CHS seniors Cole Alberty, Jackson Bardwell, Alexander Brown, Thomas Cagle, Thomas Crawford, Ethan Crochet, Luke Dawson, Evan Dayries, William de Souza, Oliver Hamilton, Christopher Kennedy, Caleb Lott, Isaac Miller, Andrew Schmeeckle, Graham Sellers, Hunter Ullrich and Jackson Whitlow  will continue on in the competition for more than 7,200 scholarships worth nearly $28 million. CHS Principal Dr. Tom Eldringhoff says the CHS family is incredibly proud of these students' hard work, and is excited for their future.

"It is quite an accomplishment, and one that could not happen without hard work, hours of study and preparation, and dedication to the standard of academic excellence we have at CHS," Dr. Eldringhoff says. "I am particularly thankful for the gratitude these young men expressed for their teachers and our overall academic program. We are certainly proud of these young men and look forward to how they will use their gifts and commitment to hard work to become the persons God created them to be!"

To be considered as a National Merit Finalist, semifinalists must submit a detailed application including information about their academic records, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, honors, and awards. Semifinalists must also be endorsed by a school official, write an essay, and have outstanding grades throughout high school. National Merit Finalists for the Class of 2024 will be named in the spring.

About 95 percent of the 16,000 semifinalists from across the nation are expected to reach finalist standing, with half going on to win a National Merit Scholarship, which would earn the recipient the Merit Scholar® title. Congratulations, gentlemen!

Students pictured above are identified as follows (from left, front row): Evan Dayries, Thomas Cagle, Olivier Hamilton, Jackson Bardwell, Jackson Whitlow. (from left, second row): Caleb Lott, Graham Sellers, Alex Brown, William de Souza. (from left, third row): Ethan Crochet, Thomas Crawford, Christopher Kennedy, and Cole Alberty. (from left, back row):Isaac Miller, Luke Dawson, Hunter Ullrich and Andrew Schmeeckle.  

We would also like to commend the following young men who will receive recognition in the 2024 National Merit® Scholarship Program pictured below (from left, front row): Gordon Crawford, Cole Mogharrebi, Adler Rice, Luke Funes, Tre' Austin. (from left, back row): Joseph Mensman, Van Mayhall, Blanchard Lagarde, William Stafford. 

  • National Merit Scholars
  • classof2023
  • scholarships